Français

Home > Contact > Directory of Experts

Directory of Expertise

The Directory of Expertise and Interests is open to academics, librarians and archivists, museum professionals, and graduate students.


Janice Anderson, Visual Resources Curator/Adjunct
Concordia University
e-mail: janicea@alcor.concordia.ca

Expertise/Interests: Women; Canadian; Social History; Feminism; 19th century; Postmodern


Dr. Laura Brandon, Historian, Art and War
Canadian War Museum
e-mail: Laura.Brandon@warmuseum.ca

Expertise/Interests: women war/military artists in Canada, depictions of women in war and military service in Canadian art.


Jaleen Grove, Part time Faculty
Parsons, The New School of Design
e-mail: jaleen@gmail.com

Expertise/Interests: illustration, commercial art, advertising, print, book, visual culture, ephemera, graphic art, drawing.


Kristina Huneault, Associate Professor
Concordia University Research Chair in Art History
email: huneault@alcor.concordia.ca

Expertise/Interests:19th century painting, drawing and visual culture; subjectivity; difference; methodology


Denise Leclerc, Curator Modern Canadian Art
National Gallery of Canada
e-mail: dleclerc@gallery.ca

Expertise/Interests: Due to collections' responsibilities over a number of years, some knowledge about a selection of women artists working in Canada from the 1940s to the 1980s.


Loren Lerner, Professor
Department of Art History, Concordia University
e-mail: loren.lerner@sympatico.ca

Expertise/Interests: children; art education; drawings and sketchbooks; artist as ethnographer


Claudine Majzels, Associate Professor
Art History Program, Department of History, University of Winnipeg
e-mail: c.majzels@uwinnipeg.ca

Expertise/Interests: Marie Hewson Guest; Muriel Guest; Winnipeg; Craft; China Painting; Manitoba; Carolyn Dukes; Feminist theory; Lynn Sissons; Allison Newton


Nancy Marrelli, Director of Archives
Concordia University
Nancy.Marrelli@concordia.ca

Expertise/Interests: archives, archival preservation, copyright, biomedical illustrators.


Catharine Mastin, PhD Candidate
University of ALberta
e-mail: mastin@ualberta.ca

Expertise/Interests: women's representaton, women's art and sexuality, Women's histories in museums and exhibitions, women and gender analysis, women's economic histories, women's histories as educators.


Joan Murray, Independent Curator
Director Emerita, The Robert McLaughlin Gallery, Oshawa
e-mail: joanmurrayart@sympatico.ca

Expertise from 1970, as the first Curator of Canadian Art at the Art Gallery of Ontario to my 26 years as Executive Director of The Robert McLaughlin Gallery in Oshawa and my 8 years as an independent (I retired from the McLaughlin in 2000), I have supported, researched and published the work of women artists in Canada.


Mora Dianne O’Neill, Associate Curator, Historical Prints and Drawings
Art Gallery of Nova Scotia
e-mail: dianne.oneill@ns.sympatico.ca

Expertise/Interests: Nova Scotian international connections 18thC - mid 20thC.


Ruth Phillips, Canada Research Chair and Professor of Art History
Carleton University
e-mail: Ruth_Phillips@carleton.ca

Expertise/Interests: Indigenous arts, Anishinaabe, Onkwehonwe (Iroquois).


Jennifer Salahub, Professor Art and Craft History
Alberta College of Art and Design
e-mail: jennifer.salahub@acad.ca

Expertise/Interests: Craft/textiles; Hannah Maynard; Lord Grey Banners; Canadian samplers; Canadian domestic textiles; Women's courtesy/handwork journals (for instance: Corticelli); Catharine Whyte (Banff).


Tusa Shea, PhD Candidate
History in Art Department, University of Victoria
e-mail: tusas@uvic.ca

Expertise/Interests: Women artists - British Columbia - Interwar Period; Women artists - British Columbia - 19th century; Women artists - British Columbia - 19th century - education; Women artists - British Columbia - 19th century - colonialism; Aboriginal women artists - British Columbia - design and tourism; Women artists - British Columbia - handicrafts; Women artists - British Columbia - textiles; Cross Cultural Exchange


If you would like to be added to the directory,
e-mail cwahi


Please include your: